I just deleted a Test Run, but before I did - I got a message saying that 2,000+ test cases would be ‘irrevocably deleted’ in the process.
This must be because the test run automatically added all test cases at creation as no specific test case collection was specified otherwise.
Anyway, because I paid attention, I cancelled the Delete and changed this selection so that just one test case was associated to the Test Run (I was not allowed to save the test run with no selected test cases - I’m not sure why).
I then went to delete the Test Run again and once again got the test cases will be ‘irrevocably deleted’ warning, but this time went ahead and confirmed the deletion of the Test Run as there was only one associated case this time.
The Test Run has now been successfully deleted - but so has the one test case I had to have associated to it.
My question is why did this test case (or why do all associated Test Cases) get deleted when I deleted the Test Run?
This is an unwanted feature for me and my team. My Test Cases should remain when deleting Test Runs as far as my workflow is concerned.
Can anyone please explain the rational here for these test cases being deleted along with the Test Run?