Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Unique configurations for sections and subsections

Hi, I’m new to Testrail and I’m liking it so far. My question is specific to Configurations for Test Suites/Test Cases within a Test Plan. Lets say I have a Test Suite (TS1) with two sections under it, S1 and S2 and test cases under them:
TS1

• S1
    • TC1
    • TC2
  • S2
    • TC3
    • TC4

I then have the following Configuration Groups:
Operating Systems

• Windows
  • OS X

Browser

• Firefox
  • IE

I would like the configuration groups to be unique to each Section, S1 and S2. For example, I would like “Operating Systems” to apply only to S1 and “Browser” to apply only to S2. So I can have this as my test plan:
Windows, TC1, TC2
OS X, TC1, TC2
Firefox, TC3, TC4
IE, TC3, TC4

But right now, if I select all configuration options, this is what I get:
Windows, Firefox, TC1, TC2, TC3, TC4
Windows, IE, TC1, TC2, TC3, TC4
OS X, Firefox, TC1, TC2, TC3, TC4
IE, IE, TC1, TC2, TC3, TC4

The only workaround I can think of for now is to make the sections (S1 and S2) as test suites. However, that forces me to have too many Test suites. Is there any other way to do what I need?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Anybody? Even a “No, it can’t be done” or asking for further clarity on my question?

Hi Sriram,

Thanks for your posting! Sure, happy to help.

If you want to test against each configuration separately I would recommend storing them in the same configuration group (e.g. called “Platform” or “Environment”). Using multiple configuration groups will create a configuration matrix with all possible configurations instead (Windows + Firefox, Windows + IE, etc.).

You can configure the case selection per configuration/run once you selected your configurations via the “select” link as part of the Test Cases column.