Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

TestRail - Running tests from multiple projects in one test run

Hi,

I’m new to testrail. I have 5 (c#) projects in my solution and each project has 10 tests. I would like to run few tests from each project in one test run. I’m using add_run to create new testrun on the fly and added testcases to the testrun successfully.

Is it possible?

Ex:
MyTestSloution
TestProject1 - 3 tests
TestProject2 - 2 tests
TestProject3 - 1 test
TestProject4 - 4 tests
TestProject5 - 5Tests

Any help much appreciated,
sara

Hi Sara,

Thanks for your posting! A test run always belongs to a single project and can include cases from this project only. Do you have the option to use a single project instead of 5 projects? I’m asking as you can have thousands of tests/cases in a single project and is much more flexible to use a single project instead of multiple projects (for creating test runs, reports, etc.).

Cheers,
Tobias

Thanks much for the quick response!!! Currently we don’t have the option to use single project. We have five different wsdl’s to test, so we created project for each wsdl’s (endpoint) that’s why we ended up having 5 instead of one :slight_smile:

Hi Sara,

Ah okay, I understand :slight_smile: I would recommend creating multiple runs in this case, one per project, and a run is always linked to single project.

Cheers,
Tobias

Hi Tobias,

I felt like i’m not clear about c# project and TestRail project in my previous post. Hence i’m posting again with more details. Right now we created Testrun and Test cases manually in testrail and updating our test results to TestRail using add_result_for_case from our C# code.