Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

TestCase link across test suites

Hello,
I know that this feature does not exist and has been on the consideration block for some time. However, I am looking for some suggestions on how best to solve this issue.

In my project, testsuites are broken by areas of functionality. Example: Admin, Security, Search, SDK, Inputs, etc. Each of these test suite have sub sections which correspond to sub components of the functionality.

As a QA manager, I am trying to track two main things

• user stores (tickets in JIRA) test coverage
  • feature test coverage

I have a testsuite ‘user stories’ and then have a sub-section for each JIRA ticket which in turn has some number of test cases. So when I look at sub-section, I know if we have adequate coverage for each JIRA ticket.

Now because I also need to report on adequate coverage for features, I need to add/copy/link many of these existing user story tests in the other features test suites.

Ideally, it should be possible to a add 'link to a test case. Since this is not supported, I am trying to see what should be the best way to achieve my objective.

Thanks in advance

Ali

Hello Ali,

Thanks for your posting. We usually recommend using the References field for linking test cases to user stories or requirements and I think this would be a good fit for your scenario as well:

http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-integration/references-introduction