Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our
blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Reporting execution percentage rather than passed percentage

Everywhere I go in TestRail, whether it’s the test run page or a report, TestRail always likes to show me the percentage passed in big bold numbers. However, as a QA Manager, I first and foremost want to know what percentage of test cases have been executed by my team. This always seems to be the first question from executives outside the group. How would I go about accomplishing this sort of reporting with the current version of TestRail? If not available, can you please add it to your list of feature requests?

Click for full image -> http://cksv.net/testrail.png

Thanks,

Chris

Hello Chris,

Thanks for your posting. It’s currently not supported to change/influence this behavior but this this is already on our list of things to look into. This request has come up before and we understand that this isn’t the desired behavior in all cases. That’s used in a lot of places in TestRail so it won’t be part of a small minor update but it is planned to look into this.

Regards,
Tobias

I would also love to see this. This is requested a lot from upper management.

hi,

if this feature will be developed i hope it is matter of customization as i do use and like current behavior as well.

Thanks,
V

Yes, this would be customizable and one option to implement this would be with an additional flag for the test statuses (which can be checked/unchecked in the administration area).

Regards,
Tobias

I would also like to see this, as it does seem redundant to have the same metric in two places, and have to calculate the execution from other info.

Hello Jim,

Thanks for your feedback on this! Yes, it is planned to revisit the numbers in the statistics and make this more flexible. I’ve just added another vote to this feature request.

Regards,
Tobias

Yes, please, another vote for this one!