Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Python integration issue

Hi all,

I am new to python as well as Test rail . And i am trying to access the test rail thru API but i keep getting the following error . Any help would be highly appreciated .

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:/Users/saradhar/PycharmProjects/TestRailScripts/com/amazon/python/testRail/importTestResults.py”, line 7, in
client.send_get(‘get_users’)
File “C:\Python\lib\testrail.py”, line 36, in send_get
return self.__send_request(‘GET’, uri, None)
File “C:\Python\lib\testrail.py”, line 76, in _send_request
result = json.loads(response.decode())
File "C:\Python\lib\json_init
.py", line 319, in loads
return _default_decoder.decode(s)
File “C:\Python\lib\json\decoder.py”, line 339, in decode
obj, end = self.raw_decode(s, idx=_w(s, 0).end())
File “C:\Python\lib\json\decoder.py”, line 357, in raw_decode
raise JSONDecodeError(“Expecting value”, s, err.value) from None
json.decoder.JSONDecodeError: Expecting value: line 1 column 1 (char 0)

Process finished with exit code 1

Thanks
Saradha

Hi Saradha,

Thanks for your posting. Can you post the snippet how you call send_get, including API client initialization code (with passwords removed)? Can you please check the TestRail address you use?

Cheers,
Tobias

Hi Tobias ,

Thanks for the quick reply. Here is the code snippet that i am using to send the request .

from testrail import *
import json
client = APIClient(‘https://servername/testrail’)
client.user='myemailid’
client.password=‘mypassword’

client.send_get(‘get_users’)

The url that i send is the same as the one that i give in the browser to connect to testrail.

Hi Saradha,

Thanks! Can you please double-check that the TestRail address is correct? Can you also check the response of TestRail in the _send_request method (testrail.py) to see what’s actually returned (e.g. maybe an HTML page instead of JSON)?

Cheers,
Tobias