Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Pushed defect to JIRA does not retain the User Story reference

Hi,

I’m relatively new to TestRail and am carrying out a proof of concept for our organisation. We are using JIRA Cloud with User Story, Task, Bug and Epic issue types configured.

What I’m trying to effect is a link between bugs and user stories in JIRA through TestRail. Here’s my Use Case (any constructive criticism welcome!)

From a user story I create a test case
In TestRail I create a test run and execute the test case
The test case fails so I ‘push’ a defect to JIRA (which correctly raise a bug issue type in JIRA)
I want to capture the User Story that is associated to the test case (issue links - I have this working)
When I submit the defect to JIRA I effectively have a new bug issue in JIRA which contains a link reference to the User Story that ‘failed’

Points to note:

• I have used the automatic JIRA Configuration in TestRail
  • I have switched on what I think are the relevant push.fields

When I view the bug in JIRA the link reference that I capture via TestRail is not visible anywhere.
Is there a separate field that I need to configure for the bug screen in JIRA, or, is this functionality just not working?

I’ve searched through the forums and had a mess around with both application configurations but would appreciate any help with this.

Many thanks,
Andy

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your posting. For test cases that belong to a user story, we can recommend adding the issue ID to the References field on the case level. This will automatically show the test cases and all related results on the JIRA issue page with the TestRail for JIRA add-on:

https://blog.gurock.com/?p=3365

Have you already installed the add-on on JIRA’s side or “just” setup the integration in TestRail (the Push/Lookup integration on Administration > Integration in TestRail)?