Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Push Sprint field to JIRA?

I am trying to configure my Testrail installation to push values in to the JIRA agile sprint field. I added it to my JIRA integration (sprint=on) but when I try to create a defect I get a message to say “Form field “sprint” does not specify a field type.”. Looking in my JIRA instance as an admin I see that the JIRA field type is listed as "JIRA Agile Sprint Field " and wont let me raise a defect. So the question is how do I specify this in the TR JIRA integration to make this work? I know that I need to specify the sprint number in the form of its internal value as there will be 30+ "sprint 1"s in the system.

Thanks

Hi Tom,

Thanks for your posting. The last time we checked (and we were in contact with Atlassian regarding this feature), the Agile/Sprint fields were not supported by JIRA’s API unfortunately and it wasn’t possible to use them with TestRail’s integration out of the box. This might have changed in the meantime though. Could you please try to specify this field as a regular custom field according to our documentation?

http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-integration/tools-jira-rest#custom_fields

You can find the ID of this field when viewing/editing it in JIRA (the ID is then part of the URL).

Regards,
Tobias

Hey Tobias, Thanks for the reply

I tried specifiying a configuration for the field as per the custom field documentation, which allowed me to at least open the raise defect dialogue. However the field was not editable, it shows the red circle with a line through it when you put the cursor over it. I tried it with all the different field types with no luck.

I also checked back with the JIRA REST API and as you state this is not supported yet (https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/CLOUDKB/Unable+to+Change+Sprint+Status+with+REST+API)

Tom