Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our
blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Parsing test results with Cucumber

Hello,

I’m currently building scripts to use the API to call/report our QA automation tests. So far I was successful, except for one part - automating the process in reporting the test results.

Recently, I’m blocked in figuring out a solution to scan both Gherkin style scenarios and RSpec steps, match it with their Test Case ID, and send the report to the server. What is the best design approach to achieve this for both Cucumber/Capybara and RSpec test runs? Also, is having the tests saved as Test Cases or under Test Suites make a difference when using the API to call them?

The framework we use supports Selenium 3.0.5 with Cucumber/Capybara, RSpec, and Appium for our internal Admin UI portal and mobile applications. The language used is Ruby 2.4.0.

Also, my background is in QA testing and ui automation; so my programing knowledge is intermediate with Ruby and limited to this field using black-box testing.

Any help or guidance is appreciated, thanks.

Hi Ken,

Thanks for your posting. We usually recommend storing the test case IDs together with your automated tests and this makes it very easy to submit test results. The case IDs are static and don’t change over time and you can simply submit results by adding a new test run (or reusing a previous one) and then calling add_result_for_case (or the bulk version add_results_for_cases):

http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-api2/reference-results

I hope this helps!

Cheers,
Tobias

Thanks Tobias, but that didn’t answer my question unfortunately.

I already read the reference doc for ‘results’ and was able to use the add_result_for_case / add_result_for_cases API as a manual call. So I was seeking if anyone has any experience in what the best practice will be to use it with the Cucumber BDD framework.