Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Not seeing Unicode in the console viewer

I must missing something simple here, but when I do this:

SiMain.LogWideString('Unicode', #27442#12384#12369#12399);

All I see in the console viewer is four little square boxes instead of the Unicode characters. When I push those characters out to other targets (text files, SQL queries) I get the actual Unicode characters in other tools which display Unicode data.

I’m just beginning to get a grip on Unicode so I may be making a silly mistake that I can’t see.

Hi Steve,

I just tested this on Vista, and the characters are correctly displayed in the Console:

On a Windows XP machine (without Office), however, I have the same issue you described. I actually think that it’s a font issue, as I have a lot more fonts on the Vista machine than on the XP one.

I got a few questions:

• Which other tools can display the characters? I tested it with Notepad, a random .NET based app and Eclipse, and all have the same problem on the XP machine.

• Did you use two different machines to test the issue, or did you test other applications on the same machine on which the Console displayed the square boxes?

• Which OS do you use? Do you have Office installed (if so, which version)?

Background: Windows uses alternative fonts for individual characters if the active font doesn’t have the required Unicode characters when a text is displayed. On my Vista machine, a Microsoft font called MingLiU contains the characters you mentioned. On my XP machine, no font contains these characters, so XP cannot display them.

For example, this should work fine under XP, as XP has a font for the following characters:

SiMain.LogWideString(‘Unicode’, #$3B1#$3B2#$3B3#$3B4#$3B5#$3B6);