Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.
 

Maxsize parameter


#1

If I set maxsize for my connection what happens when this size is reached? Is a new logfile created or is this existing file truncated in some way?


#2

Hello Peter,

when the maxsize size has been reached, the current log file is renamed to a backup file and a new log file with the original filename is opened. If the backup file already exists before renaming, it is deleted. This ensures that there will be at most one backup file.

For example, if you log to a file named ‘log.sil’ and the maxsize size is reached, the file ‘log.sil’ is renamed to ‘log_backup.sil’ and a new empty ‘log.sil’ is opened.