Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Jira_Rest 401 Error Code

Hello, I hope you can help,

When attempting to push or view a defect (by hovering over it) I am met with the error message:

Plugin "Jira_REST" returned an error: Invalid user or password or insufficient permissions for the integration user (HTTP code 401). Please make sure to use your actual JIRA username for the integration (not your email address, for example).

I have seen a lot of topics on this, but nothing that has worked yet, so I’m going to start off by letting you know what I have checked.

The settings work with the generic username and password i created for a fallback, but it is rejecting my own credentials. So the rest of the config works

I am using the username, not an email address. I have checked that the username is correct repeatedly.

I am an admin on the Jira and have access to the project.

I am sure the password is correct. If I paste from clipboard it lets me log in to Jira. if I paste it in my user settings (on testrail) I fail to connect. If I paste it into the plain-text defects integration setup, I fail to connect. If I do the same with the fallback information, it works.

I’d prefer everyone to use their own credentials, but until I find out why my own don’t work, I don’t feel comfortable trying to achieve this.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for the post and detailed information on what you have tried so far. As of late we have seen that JIRA has been updating the way users log into JIRA. From what we have seen using the actual email address of the integration user appears to resolve this. You can simply go to Administration > integration and scroll down to the bottom of the page and edit the username. From here enter the entire email address and save your changes. Once you have done this see if the error still displays.