Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

How to pull a report for Test Case coverage with the requirement

Hi,
I am new to TestRail, and looking some help in terms of different kind of out of the Box reports or how can i customize report. I am struggling to pull Traceability report. My Company is using TestRail as Test Management Tool where we are creating all the test cases in it, Creating Test Suite for each sprint and also also executing test cases and Status update.
Jira we are using for the Requirement capturing and Defect Management along with planning.
My Team is creating test cases and mapping these with Jira Requirement Ticket. I want to pull a Traceability Report but I don’t have any idea how to pull that report. Please help me to pull this report ASAP.

Thanks,
Ajit Singhal

Hi Ajit,

Thanks for your posting. Do you use the References field on the test case level to link your test cases to JIRA issues? If so, you can use the Cases > Coverage for References report from the Reports tab and this report was specifically designed to show the coverage for requirements/user stories.

By default, this report will only include the JIRA issues that are already in the system (linked via the References field) but you can also use a custom issue list. For example, you can generate the list of JIRA issues you are interested in and copy this over to TestRail to see their test case coverage.

Cheers,
Tobias

Hi Tobias,

Can you please provide the steps to use custom issue list? How to generate the list of JIRA/GITBUG issues we are interested in and copy this over to Testrail to see their testcase coverage report?

Hi Anjanaki,