Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

How to Organize and Tag Test Cases for Automation Initiative

I am a consultant working with a cloud-based software company. I am quite new to test rail.

The company I work with uses Test Rail to manage about 20,000 test cases across 15 projects. Of those, maybe 4000-6000 test cases across 4 or 5 projects have been run at least once during the past 8 months.

Some of those test cases are well documented (with descriptions of test scenario, test data sets and expected results). Others are simply one line descriptions (which require a domain expert to invoke).

We want to automate those frequently-used test cases and need a process to manage the automation effort.

Across these 4000-6000 test cases (again across 4-5 projects), I would like to create a report showing the following:

“State” of each Test Case

• Not Yet Automated
  • Don’t Plan to Automate
  • Test Case Update Required
  • Automation Development in Process
  • Automation Verification in Process
  • Test Case Automated

Automation Priority

• Low Priority
  • Medium Priority
  • High Priority

Who Responsible for Automation

• Tester A
  • Tester B

I need this report to help prioritize our efforts and tracks who is working on what. Ideally, I would put this into a backlog (and manage it on a Jira agile board). But, that may be wishful thinking.

Does anyone have ideas on how to do this? I want to use as lightweight a process as possible. One key is that it must be easy to apply the above “attributes” to each of the test cases and then update those “attributes” as the test case status changes.

As a note, we are willing to collapse our test rail projects. We just are uncertain how to do this (we don’t want to lose past results associated with a test run). Likewise, we are more than happy to add “custom variables”. I am just uncertain if these can be associated with the test cases themselves.