Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our
blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

How to Import previously exported (then modified) test cases

I’m trying to modify a number of test cases, multiple fields need to be modified, and some of the fields already contain data so bulk editing is out (unless there is a way to append text instead of overwriting the text.

What I would expect to be able to do is:

1. Export the cases
  2. Modify them in Excel
  3. Import them back into testrail, merging them back into the existing cases in testrail with the fields that have changed over writing the old fields, while any fields that did not change are preserved.

I would expect this would work by using a common field like ID to map them?

Sorry if there is an easy way to do this, I’m new to testrail.

Hi Bryan,

Thank you for the post. With the CSV importer TestRail will always create new test cases. That being said, you can export to XML, edit the XML, and then import that back into TestRail. You could then have TestRail update the existing test cases.

Good afternoon,

I’ve attempted to export an existing test suite using CSV and making needed modifications in Excel and saved the edited file in XML format. The import of the XML formatted file proceeds without error, however, it does not update the testcases with the changes. Please let me know if there is something I am missing here.

I didn’t do the export to CSV, but instead directly to XML, so I’m not sure if that is what’s causing your issue. One piece of advise I can give is to make sure you select the Update existing test cases when you initially select the file to import. Other than that I don’t consider myself an expert in CSV, or XML, so I’m not sure how the way you tried it, and the way I did it (that worked) differ.

Hi Charlotte,