Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our
blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

How to get/update case ids in a test plan or run using API

Hi There,

I’m new to TestRail, not sure about this. I’m trying the using the API the add a test plan entry for test runs. But I cannot find ‘case_ids’ in test plan entry ‘runs’. Can I update the entry adding more test case ids?

Thanks/Regards,
Tony

Hi Tony,

Thanks for your posting. You can find the list of selected cases/tests in a run via get_tests:

http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-api2/reference-tests

This also applies to runs inside a plan. The case_ids attribute is currently not directly returned by add_run/add_plan or get_run/get_plan but you can use get_tests to get the included tests and their case IDs (case_id attribute).

Cheers,
Tobias

Thank you Tobias! Now I can get the case ids. Can I use the API to update the case ids, especially when include_all is false?

Hi Tony,

You are welcome! Yes, you can use update_plan_entry to update the case selection for runs in plans or update_run for standalone runs.

Cheers,
Tobias

Hello

I interpret Tobias’ reply in such way that with “update_plan_entry” it should be possible to update the “case_ids”-attribute of individual runs (non-standalone). However from my experience “update_plan_entry” has no access to the entry’s “runs”-array and hence can’t modify the case ids of the individual runs. Modifying the entry’s “case_ids”-attribute on the other hand is perfectly possible (but in my scenario of no use since the underlying runs overwrite it).
So am I doing something wrong or did I misunderstand Tobias’ reply?

Sincerely
Julian

Hi Julianm,

Thank you for the follow up. The update_plan_entry method would allow you to specify a case array using the case_ids POST field.

In order to do this however you will need the entry ID of the test run within your test plan. This is a alpha-numeric ID assigned to each test run within a test plan.