Subscribe Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security. Subscribe

How to add test result for javascript?

well i am new in testrail,
we are using cypress framework, i am trying to figure it out how i can update test result in testrail ?
i am able to see the test has been ran , but the result is not updated,
http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-api2/start#add_result_for_case , not sure how can i use in my framework,

thanks

Hi @nik,
what have you already done to integrate your framework with TestRail? I guess you do not expect to get TestRail updated automatically by magic.

Usually you define what you want to test in TestRail (TestPlan and/or TestRuns) for given test cases and enter your results manually or use the API to upload/update results with a reporter or e.g. a Jenkins-job.

Within the forum you will find some posts about the integration of different automation tools/frameworks.

E.g. for Cypres you can check here. Just found by via google search. :innocent:

Don’t hesitate to ask for further help…

Karsten

i am using https://www.npmjs.com/package/cypress-testrail-reporter, and i can see test run is updating in test rail,
the problem i am facing is - it’s not updating test results (it’s always untested).
as you mentioned API to upload/update with the reporter, can you guide me a bit how can i upload the result?
i was expecting reporter is enough for updating the result on testrail as well,
of course, the test result will not update in testrail by magic :slightly_smiling_face:

@nik,
I’m not using Cypress so I’m not really in touch with the reporter itself.
I took a quick look at the code and I’m not excited. As far as I understand, it will create a new run for every single test result, what is a real bad idea (OK, IMHO). Some posts on Stackoverflow also discuss this point, there is also another reporter mentioned.