Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our
blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

How can we delete sections?

How can I delete a section if it was created by mistake?

Hello,

Thanks for your posting. You should see a Delete icon when you hover your mouse over the name of the section (next to the Edit icon). If you don’t see this icon, then you don’t have permissions to delete sections/cases. This can be changed by an administrator in the administration area under Administration > Users & Roles.

I hope this helps and please let me know in case you have any further questions.

Regards,
Tobias

I am an admin user but i still don’t see a delete icon to delete a section. I do see the edit icon but no delete icon.

I can delete a test case.

Thanks for the update. Deleting sections is covered by the same permissions as deleting test cases, so you should also be able to delete sections if you can delete test cases. Would it be possible to provide a screenshot of the relevant permissions for your role in the administration area and also a screenshot of a test suite when you hover over a section?

Thanks in advance and please let me know in case you have any questions.

Regards,
Tobias

I am trying to send you the screenshot but i am not sure how to upload an image with post.

Thanks for the update. I believe the forum doesn’t have an upload function for images, but you can simply send us the screenshot to our help desk via email:

contact@gurock.com

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Tobias

Hello,
Was this issue resolved?
I am having the same problem. I am a TestRail admin, and I still cannot see that delete icon for test cases or test sections when hovering the mouse over the name.

Thanks,
Joey

Never mind, I figured it out.
Under Roles, I needed to configure the Lead role to allow deletes.
Joey