Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Entirely new instance of TestRail?

Hi everyone:

I’m new at a company where we’re doing tons of mobile testing on iPhone, iPad, Android mobile and Android tablet. We’ve been using TestRail and have many, many test cases but they weren’t really organized all that well. We’ve decided to do a full reorganization as of now, and I’m pretty sure that if we move test cases around we’ll lose the run history so migrating everything is out.

Is it possible to create an entirely new instance of TestRail, and copy all the new TCs into it within the organizational framework we’ve decided on? (FYI we’re going with two main projects: iOS and Android, then within the cases and names of test runs specifying whether it’s mobile or tablet.) That way we can use the old instance while we set up the new one, and will have access to all previous and current run info, albeit in two different places.

Hello PST,

Thanks for your posting! I would recommend just adding two new projects in the same instance and then copying your cases from the original projects to the new ones (instead of setting up a completely new instance). You can even hide your old projects from the dashboard afterwards via TestRail’s permission system or move it to the completed section if you like.

http://docs.gurock.com/testrail-userguide/howto-permissions

The advantage of using the same instance would be that you can still look at old test results, the case history and your projects in general in case this is ever needed (in the same instance).