Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.
 

Don't remember-me by default


#1

Hi,

So this seems like a really dumb question to me, my apologies in advance; is there any way that on the login screen the remember-me option could not be selected by default?

Every time I revisit the page, i.e. straight from logging out, or closing & reopening browser, it is selected again.

Thanks,
Paul.


#2

Hello Paul,

Thanks for your posting! There are no dumb questions :smile: The remember-me option is currently always checked by default and this default behavior is currently not configurable. If you log out explicitly via the Logout, you can also leave the remember-me option checked because Logout would also clear the remember-me token. It only applies to the closing & reopening browser case.

I hope this helps!

Regards,
Tobias


#3

Hi Tobias,

Thanks for your reply, & confirmation of the functionality.

I don’t suppose there are any plans to have the system remember the selected ‘remember-me’ value?

I know it’s a small thing, especially as currently sessions don’t expire until the browser’s closed but it’s an annoyance to have to deselect it any time I log in (I don’t like browsers/systems remembering credentials, & happily prefer the necessity to log into a system first… I also realise I’m probably become the minority in this aspect.).

Thanks,
Paul.


#4

Thanks for the suggestion, Paul! There are no specific plans so far, but we will make sure to look into this for one of the next versions. I agree that this makes sense from a usability standpoint and deselecting this every time is certainly not ideal.

Thanks again,
Tobias


#5

Thanks Tobias,

Paul.