Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.
 

Does deleting a milestone delete the testrun?

Hello,

We recently deleted some duplicate milestones and found that the test run we wanted to keep was also deleted.
Is there a way to close/delete a milestone and save the TestRun to link it to a different milestone?

Hi @rosej,

This is contradicting behavior of how Milestone deletion is suppose to work. I’ve just tested this to make sure there isn’t a bug and the most current version is behaving as expected. When you delete a milestone any linked test runs/plans are not removed, instead they are just unlinked and belong to no milestone.

As stated by the prompt when you delete a milestone. this procedure " unlinks this milestone from all test runs & plans and cannot be undone (no test runs & plans are deleted) ."

The only explanation is that the test run/plan was deleted directly, accidentally.

Please test or let us know via contact@gurock.com with exact replication steps/screenshots to so we can take a deeper dive into this.