Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.
 

Deleting a TestPlan and TestRun once it is marked completed


#1

Is it possible to delete a Test Plan and all test runs within that plan, once the Plan has been marked complete?
Thanks!


#2

Hi Valerie,

Thanks for the post! It is possible to delete a closed test run if you no longer require the data to be present, but this ability is not enabled by default. In order to do so, you’ll first need to go to ‘Administration > Users & Roles’, then select the role you’d like to grant the permission to (generally ‘Lead’). On that page, you should see the row for ‘Runs & Plans (Closed)’ as shown here:

We do not recommending keeping this permission enabled and only enabling it long enough to delete the test plans or runs you are sure you no longer need, then revoking the permission when you are done. Closed test runs you actually need can be deleted by mistake, and once deleted there is no direct way to recover them.

Hope this helps!
Jon


#3

Thank you so much Jon!!