Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Creating test runs with different sections

I am relatively new to TestRail and I haven’t been able to find anything within the forums regarding my issue so hopefully this isn’t a repeat. Within our QA dept we are about to start testing our test cases based on the following: 3 different devices (desktop, mobile and Tablet) within 5 different divisions. What I would like to do is to have the separate divisions under each device. In order for me to do this, do I have to create the test suites based on the device and then create the test run by division?

Hi!

Thanks for your posting. TestRail has a built-in feature for managing multiple environments/configurations with test plans & configurations:

http://www.gurock.com/testrail/videos/test-plans-configurations/

The recommended approach in your case would be to create a configuration with the three devices and another configuration group with your division. When you then create a test plan, you can select the configurations and TestRail would automatically create test runs for each device/division combination:

If the devices do not share a lot of test cases, it can also make sense to use a slightly different concept. For example, instead of using a single case repository/suite and managing devices and divisions via configurations, it can then also make sense to use a different, dedicated test suite per device and only manage the divisions via configurations.