Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.

Clone TestRun/Testplan

Hello,
Is it possible to clone a testrun and testplan. Here is my setup and I would imagine that it is very typical for testrail users

• Project XYZ
  • Milestones
    • Release 1
    • Release 2
    • Release n

As a testing manager, I try to plan out each milestone by creating various testplan and testrun in anticipation of the upcoming milestone. Now, even though I am on release2, I might still need to re-run the same testplan/testrun from release1.

It seems that currently, I’ll have to re-create the same testplan/testrun for release2, select all the appropriate testsuites, testcases, etc. This seems like a lot of work. It would be great if I could somehow clone existing testplans/testrun and assign them to a new milestone.

Let me know if my use case is unusual of I am using testrails incorrectly.

Thanks

Ali

Test Plans have a “Rerun” button up the top that does exactly what you are after :slight_smile:

Test Runs that are not inside test plans also have this ability.

just tried this. works great.

So I am running into one versioning issue with the current testrail design.

Here is my setup

Project: ABC
Milestones

• Release 1…N
  • Sustaining Release 1…N

We have two separate teams, core and sustaining. Once a product goes live to customers, core moves on to new version of the product and sustaining takes over for addressing bugs to the live product.

Based on current testRail design, core will ‘close’ their testplan for their last release milestone. This way all the testcase descriptions are locked.

Sustaining will start a new milestone using core’s existing closed testplan. If sustaining changes anything to a particular testcase, core’s closed testplan is not affected - This is good