Join 34,000+ subscribers and receive articles from our blog about software quality, testing, QA and security.
 

Changing the status of a test run


#21

My team is evaluating a new test tool for us to use. So far TestRail is leading the pack in our trial runs; however I just encountered exactly the same limitation described in this thread. Even creating a new status of “In Progress” with the option “This status is a final status” unticked, the test resul with “In Progress” still can’t be edited.

Our problem with this is that we’ll have junior testers and we’ll be adopting this as a new test tool; therefore we are expecting experimentation and non-final test results that need to be edited. Having multiple test results in a test case in a test run is not what we want.

This may impact our final decision unless you have a suggestion how to circumvent this limitation?


#22

Hi,

If we do this, then there wont be any continuity in the test case.

The main problem is the screen shot what we include in the run, wont be available in the new test run.

do you have any option to at-least copy the screen shots in the run.


#23

another vote for this feature. My company might end our subscription without.


#24

Please add my vote to the pause feature.

Thanks,
Hanna


#25

+1

For us this is a major limitation. We have TCs of over 200 steps, so we have to save the result halfway.
When continuing, you can change individual step results but if during the initial run the overall status was set to “in progress”, there is no way to change this anymore.

Just adding another result to update only the overall status makes no sense.


#26

Has there been any update on this topic?, our team struggles with this too.

Thank you,


#27

Hello Marco,

Can you please point out how I would ‘override’ as you have indicated, this would help me out a little until this much requested feature is added. At present I do not see anyway of overriding .

If it is a setting I need to ask of my admins, please let me know what I need to ask of them (they are geographically separated from me so popping round to discuss it with them is not possible!)

Many thanks,

James


#28

Another vote over here. We should be able to configure this annoying ‘feature’ out of existence…